Skip to content

Robert Kroetsch Award History

What is it? The prize for the Robert Kroetsch Award for innovative Poetry is awarded annually. The winning manuscript is selected by an established poet, in co-operation with Snare Books. Snare Books was founded in Montreal by Jon Paul Fiorentino and Robert Allen in the early spring of 2006.

So much skillful poetry work goes on in Canada, the judges have a hard job.

2007: Natalie Zina Walschots for Thumbscrews. (Judge: Darren Wershler-Henry)

2008: Geoffery Hlibchuk for Variations on Holderlin. (Judge: Elizabeth Bachinsky)

2009: Sarah Dowling for Security Posture. (Judge: Rachel Zolf)

2010: Jake Kennedy for The Lateral. (Judge: Sina Queyras)

2011: Pearl Pirie [oh my!] for (working title) Thirsts. (Judge: Neil Besner)

The deadline for manuscripts is in January. The announcement is in early March and the book is released in mid-November. It is open to an emerging Canadian writer, defined as a writer who has published two books or less. The winner receives a trade paperback contract with Snare Books which will include the publication of the manuscript and a $500 honourarium.

The prize is named after Robert Kroetsch (born 1927). He’s a Canadian novelist, poet, and non-fiction writer. He’s been studied in literary criticism since the 80s. In 2004 he was made an Officer of the Order of Canada.

He’s known as a Prairie poet. You might know him thru a couple of his more famous poetry collections: Seed Catalogue (1977) and The Sad Phoenician (1979). He taught for many years at the University of Manitoba. He’s been called the father of Canadian postmodernism.

He’s a sort of father figure in Canadian literature, well-loved and a sweet man. I’ve had the chance to see him read at the Post Modern Conference. btw, Robert Stacey released a 440 page book in October as a results from those symposiums: RE: Reading the Postmodern: Canadian Literature and Criticism after Modernism (University of Ottawa Press, 2010).

Related posts:

  1. The Robert Kroetsch Award Shortlist Snare books announced the shortlist today. We are: – Jason Christie on his book Canada Post – Victor Enns‘ book Lucky Man – Christine McNair at ditch, – Amanda Earl...
  2. fw: Robert Kroetsch Award for Innovative Poetry The deadline for the annual Robert Kroetsch Award for Innovative Poetry is January 31, 2011. Do you have a poetry manuscript just waiting for the right opportunity? Do you know...
  3. Robert Kroetsch Award The winner of this year’s Robert Kroetsch Award is Geoffery Hlibchuk’s Varations on Holderlin....

Categories: Uncategorized.

Comment Feed

8 Responses

  1. Smashing! Congratulations!
    Looking forward to reading the (working title) Thirsts…

    michèle provostMarch 2, 2011 @ 12:33 pm
  2. Congrats, Peal. Well deserved. Your innovative poetry is legend in Ottawa. TA Carter

    Terry Ann CarterMarch 2, 2011 @ 1:08 pm
  3. All your talent and dedication and hard work has led to this recognition of your gifts, Pearl, and I’m so happy for you! Congratulations!!!

  4. mucho congrats, Pearl! We PurdyFesters have known great things were inevitable since we first met & heard you read … : )
    Chris, Chase (wroooof) and the ZenRiver whitewater Buddhas

    Chris FaiersMarch 3, 2011 @ 1:09 am
  5. thanks guys! great to know you all!

    PearlMarch 3, 2011 @ 12:08 pm
  6. This is awesome Pearl :-) Many many congrats!

  7. The 2012 deadline is January 31st and the judge will be Sachiko Murakami

    PearlJuly 29, 2011 @ 12:15 pm

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.

Continuing the Discussion

  1. […] I can breathe. (Checking to confirm) (yep). I can eat. My speech capacity is coming back. I won the Robert Kroetsch Award, which I’ve explained at that […]